Celeriac and Turnip Puree

IMG_0304IMG_0317

I said I was going to post about some of my favorite root vegetable dishes this fall, and now I am making good on my word.  This is a creamy puree that works well with roast meat, braised pork, and crispy poultry. Or even just on it’s own with a big spoon =)  A nice alternative to starchy mashed potatoes, it could also be easily turned into a soup with the addition of a little more cream and chicken or vegetable stock.  Like most of my cooking, I made this recipe up as I went a long. I found similar and reliable recipe on the Food&Wine website and have posted it below with my alterations.

IMG_0311

Celeriac & Turnip Puree

INGREDIENTS

  1. One 1-pound celery root, peeled and coarsely chopped (about 2 cups)
  2. 1 pound medium turnips, peeled and coarsely chopped (about 3 cups)
  3. 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  4. Kosher salt
  5. 1/4 cup whole milk (I used cream), warmed
  6. Freshly ground pepper
  7. I added 3 cloves of garlic, peeled and smashed

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a large saucepan, add the celery root and turnips (and garlic) and just enough cold water to cover; bring to a boil. Stir in 3 tablespoons of the unsalted butter and 2 teaspoons of salt. Reduce the heat to moderate and simmer until the celery root and turnips are tender and the cooking liquid is reduced to 1/4 cup, about 35 minutes.
  2. Transfer the vegetables and their cooking liquid to a food processor and let cool for 10 minutes. Add the remaining 1 tablespoon of butter and the milk (cream) and process until smooth. Season the celery root–turnip puree with salt and pepper, transfer to a bowl and serve.

MAKE AHEAD

The celery root and turnip puree can be refrigerated overnight. Reheat gently before serving.

IMG_0308IMG_0316

************

IMG_0613

In other news, we will be leaving shortly for a little scenic drive up the North Shore (Skokie Lagoons, Sheridan Road maybe?) to pick up some furniture. And hopefully see a little fall color while we’re at it! Our little apartment is really starting to shape up.  My mom will be here for a week, and I am going to enlist her in helping me get it organized and pretty (she is the best at this, I have much to learn from her!), and hopefully take some photos for a little home tour!

One thought on “Celeriac and Turnip Puree

Leave a Reply

