welcoming autumn. and a spinach & cheese pie.

IMG_0259

ready for fall

Of course, the weather was in the 80’s today…. but no matter, this warm weather is slowly and surely starting to fade. To be replaced with chilly breezes, some grey skies, and crisp orange leaves.  What could be better?

We started off our first day of autumn with a savory fritatta, it reminded me so much of spanokopita.  We do a lot of spur-of-the-moment cooking around here, so we have a lot of frozen produce. Keeping easy to cook frozen vegetables stocked makes throwing together dishes a lot easier.

IMG_0260

To make this spinach and cheese fritatta, melt 1/2 a stick of butter on a large non-stick skillet (this makes these much easier when it’s time to remove the fritatta).  Preheat the oven to about 400F. Cook about a 2 cups of chopped frozen spinach, and one diced onion (or the frozen equivalent) at medium-high heat until soft and the onion start to be come golden on the edges and spinach is defrosted.  Sprinkle a tablespoon of garlic powder (or minced garlic) on top of the mixture, and stir well. Meanwhile, whisk 9 or so eggs in a bowl, season with salt andpepper, then pour on top of spinach mixture.  You can lift the edges as if cooking an omelet, but give it some time just heat the bottom and the edges of the fritatta. You can now chop up some of your favorite cheeses and it add to the pan. I used extra sharp tillamook cheddar, and a some shredded mozarella, but a sharp sheep’s milk feta would taste excellent with this as well.   Finally, sprinkle the top of the fritatta with some parmesean, some extra garlic powder, black pepper and  a drizzle of olive oil.  It should be partially set now, and will puff up in the oven.  I cooked mine for about 20 minutes, so the edges formed their own crust, and the top turned crunchy and golden.  Serve with your favorite sausages, or fresh salad if serving as lunch.

rootsthe glorious turnip.

I also love all the gorgeous root vegetables of the colder seasons.  Rutabaga (or swede), turnips, parsnips, and celeriac are the stars in our kitchen. I will be doing some posts this fall about some of my favorite root veg dishes.  Packed with nutrients, lower in starch and carbohydrates, mashed, pureed, roasted…. these guys rock.  So, stay tuned for some tasty recipes… and think outside the potato!

IMG_0278IMG_0247

(my little turnip : )
6 thoughts on “welcoming autumn. and a spinach & cheese pie.

  1. You ask What could be better? Well…seeing your little turnip my little darlin’ Magnolia! I too welcome fall, however we are with 90 degrees in colorado. Looking forward to your cooking Barbara. xo mom kisses to maggie xo

  2. Hi Barbara,

    The fall frittata you featured looks fabulous–if only I were eating cheese. I’ve given up dairy for awhile. The photos of the turnips look so moody, like winter. I like the light on them. How will you prepare those? I just got some in my CSA box and I’m not sure what to do with them, as I haven’t cooked them in years.

    Did I ever mention that my parents grew up in a small town west of Chicago? How do you like living there?

  3. Oh, this is right up my alley. The flavors of spanikopeta, without the fuss. Thanks for the reminder. And the lovely banner — those feet! that rug!

Leave a Reply

