I feel the earth move….

her first snow man.

..maggie made her first snowman yesterday. and he survived an earthquake at 4 a.m. this morning. everyone is okay, it was just a minor one, but still a little exciting.  when it happened, the whole room seemed to shake. I sleep in a pitch black room without windows, but my night vision seemed to immediately kick into over-drive, I think by the adrenaline.  I feel guilty for finding it some what enjoyable?…interesting?.. considering how tragic and traumatic the earthquake in Haiti has been.

But it was a reminder to me of how much we have to be grateful for, how miniscule and human we are on the scheme of things.  How important it is to live our lives as positively as possible–in whatever ways we can.

donate for haiti relief: doctors without borders, salvation army, clinton bush haiti fund

4 thoughts on “I feel the earth move….

  1. Hi Barbara,

    I didn’t even know they had earthquakes out your way.

    Oh yes…we get them here too, but it’s been awhile. I was in the big one in ’89 in downtown S.F., my first. My whole room office room shook. The entire city had to walk home. No power. Everyone out. Strange how people react differently. Some get drunk. Some loot–the edge of unpredictability lasted for months. Now all the cracks have been repaired, the fire damage painted, and you’d never know it happened.

    I appreciated your message: “to live our lives as positively as possible–in whatever ways we can.”

    Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Barbara, I know just what you mean. I was in LA for the Northridge quake which was also at night and scary yet thrilling. I felt the earth was alive and that you couldn’t take anything for granted.

Leave a Reply

