Land Girls

hshf_img_wlarecruit

Just noticed the new series Land Girls on the BBC iplayer.  Looks pretty good.

From wikipedia:

The Women’s Land Army (WLA) was a British and American civilian organization created during the First and Second World Wars to work in agriculture replacing men called up to the military. Women who worked for the WLA were commonly known as Land Girls.

In effect the Land Army operated to place women with farms that needed workers, the farmers being their employers.

I should be packing…. but it’s probably important that I get as much british television as I can in before I leave.  Who knows what shows BBC America will pick up…. other than Dr. Who and Torchwood and Top Gear. ;D

5 thoughts on “Land Girls

  1. We are moving to the Chicago area– first stop my dad’s house in Loves Park (awesome name for a town, right?) and then on to our next Urban adventure in Chicago.

    …. part of me really wants to hunker down in a little cottage on the coast of england. sigh… maybe some day :)

  2. Wow! I feel so very surprised…you are so very nonchalant not mentioning until just before you move. Good luck with the packing and the move. I have only been to Chicago twice for just a day or two each time and I liked it rather a lot. I look forward to reading updates after the winds of change have taken you to the Windy City.

Leave a Reply

