chocolate mousse

 

MELT 1 bar of dark chocolate with 1/2 cup coconut oil and teaspoon of raw honey, mix well. crack 4 organic egg whites into a bowl and whisk until firm peaks. you can do this by hand, like i did, and get an arm work out at the same time. mix the 4 yolks in to the chocolate mix and add a splash of vanilla and a splash of rum (optional). incorporate chocolate mix into eggs whites, pour into jars and ramekins and chill in fridge. or the freezer if you are impatient like me. also great straight from the mixing bowl.

 

4 thoughts on “chocolate mousse

  1. I normally don’t go out of my way to bake or make deserts, but I’ve been dieting pretty hard and today was a scheduled moderate splurge. I stumbled across this and thought I might try.

    I substituted:
    1T natural cocoa
    1t of Xylitol

    Added:
    1T raw cream

    Ran it wide open until smooth with a Vita-Mix

    Little blah, but I wanted it to be. Don’t want go into a tailspin and binge ;) It did the trick, thanks for the idea.

  2. ha! I hear you about the tailspinning… the coconut butter in the dark chocolate and coconut oil make it verrrry rich. so much so that I made it two days in a row!
    luckily, the amount of work it takes to whisk the egg whites by hand is enough to keep me from making it too often. . . . hopefully :)

  3. Oh, my this sounds INCREDIBLE!!!!
    It is morning, I have not eaten breakfast yet but my mouth is watering for this lovely dessert : ) ok off to have yogurt and berries… but! I will be saving this recipe for later!

Leave a Reply

