not bread pudding, and a salad

not bread puddingIMG_2778

since I have been cooking a lot (mostly) from scratch the last couple years, my health has greatly improved, but it is really time consuming some times!! not to mention all the dirty dishes… and we don’t have a dishwasher in our tiny apartment. not the best set up, but what can you do?

so, to avoid going all semi-homemade the sandra lee way, i have been roasting a lot of meats. I know  a lot of people don’t like to use the oven in the summer, but in england it rarely gets hot enough for that to be bothersome.  I’m sure if we had a backyard, or even a porch with a grill, we would be using that a lot– but alas, city living does not allow that! … well atleast not on our budget.

so far I have roasted beef, pork loin, pork belly, and my favorite– gammon. it is so nice to just season it, add some vegetables (or not), and shove it in the oven… and an hour or two later you have meat for snacking on the rest of the day.  a simple salad of roast ham, tomato, mayo and olive oil dressing is so satisfying, yet still feels “summery”.

in america, pudding is obviously the jello-type dessert, but in england it is your general word for dessert.  using the banana “bread” recipe, I made a strawberry/banana pudding of sorts. basically, make the batter as usual and top it with sliced strawberries. delicious. it reminds me of the kind my dad would make with leftover bread, milk, sugar and raisins…. and golden syrup always added a nice touch.

no golden syrup here, and I keep fantasizing about how wonderful a big glob of cream would taste on top… but really, it’s perfect and light all on its own.

not bread puddingIMG_2742not bread pudding

using the banana “bread” recipe, I made a strawberry pudding of sorts. basically, make the batter as usual and top it with sliced strawberries. delicious. reminds me of the kind my dad would make, but his usually had raisins…. and golden syrup always added a nice touch.
4 thoughts on “not bread pudding, and a salad

  1. i would like a small portion with a bit of cream and a cup of coffee please… looks yummy barbara

Leave a Reply

