Vegetarian Scotch Eggs

So, I have been craving scotch eggs for awhile.  My dad, being the jolly Englishman that he is, made these for my brother and I when we were young.  I was pretty sure they were the best invention ever.  Hard-boiled eggs, wrapped in sausage, coated in bread rumbs and deep-fried. Forget egg mcmuffins, these were hard core. Traditionally British pub or pinic food, and traditionally very much not vegetarian, my version takes advantage of a product I typcially stay away from: fake meat.  Other than bean/rice burgers, I am not a fan of fake meat produts, mostly because they are usually made with wheat and gluten.  But, my craving for soth eggs has been so strong lately, that I gave in when I found this Gimme Lean sausage analog in our grocery store the other day. This recipe is by no means wheat-free, but some times you gotta live large… and so, I give you Vegetarian Scotch Eggs.

For four hearty Scotch Eggs:

  • 4 organic eggs hard-boiled and chilled
  • 1 package of fake sausage or regular sausage, if you prefer
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • mixed herbs to flavor bread crumbs
  • fresh or otherwise bread crumbs (fresh, from 3 slices of sandwich bread was enough for me)
  • 4 Tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 2 raw eggs, lightly beaten
  • vegetable oil, for deep-frying

Remove egg shells, and rinse with cool water.  Maneuver the sausage to enclose each of the eggs. Combine garlic, herbs, bread crumbs & sesame seeds on a plate or shallow bowl.  Lightly dust the sausage-covered eggs in flour, dip in raw eggs, and coat with bread-crumb mixture.  Heat about 2 1/2 inches of vegetable oil to about 350°.  With a slotted spoon, drop 2 eggs in at a time, cook 4-5 miuntes or until browned and sausage is fully-cooked.  Drain off some of the extra grease (or not! we’re living large here, right? ;-) and enjoy.  Cheers!

8 thoughts on “Vegetarian Scotch Eggs

  1. We had a similar urge a couple of years back, and now Penny’s created six different vegetarian scotch eggs, including a wheat free version we call Sunburst, busting with sunflower and pumpkin seeds, carrots and chives. We’re working on a new spicy recipe just now with some really helpful advice from our Indian friends Tiffy and Saleem this promises to be a winner!

    Check out the rest at http://www.handmadescotcheggs.co.uk

    ps also supply what we call Jumble, the recipes in the raw so you can make your own !

  2. I found your blog through blue yonder and I just had to say – you really need to post this recipe on our egg recipe contest. It looks so good!

  3. Oh, scotch eggs, used to have them when I was younger in England!!! Great you have a recipe here. I am going to try it, bring back some memories!
    x

  4. HI! This recipe looks great! Do you have a suggestion for what herbs to use? Have you found a combination and amount that you think is really good? I’m not very experienced in flavoring with herbs so I could use the pointers. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

